Skip to content

University Gazette

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mesibov named interim director of Ombuds Office

Laurie Mesibov

Laurie Mesibov has been named interim director of the University’s Ombuds Office, effective Feb. 8. She takes on this role for Wayne Blair, who left the University on Feb. 7 to become the ombuds person for the Asian Development Bank, an international development finance institution dedicated to reducing poverty and increasing the quality of life in Asia and the Pacific.

Mesibov, who had served as associate University ombuds, will be assisted by Victoria Dowd, assistant University ombuds and program assistant for the office. Mesibov and Dowd have worked as a team with Blair since the office was created in 2005 as a safe space for students, faculty, staff and administrators to to discuss any University-related issues, problems or disputes.

“I am grateful to Laurie Mesibov for assuming the interim leadership role of this critically important office that benefits all members of our campus community,” said Chancellor Carol L. Folt.

“It is important to have an experienced leader with Laurie’s background and first-hand knowledge of our University’s initiatives continuing the dedicated work of the office,” Folt said. “There is no one more capable to take on that responsibility. Laurie’s background makes her uniquely qualified to build on the reputation and record of the University Ombud’s office as a confidential and safe place to visit where all feel welcome.”

Since its inception, Folt added, the office has played a key role supporting intellectual freedom, promoting personal integrity and justice, and pursuing values that foster enlightened leadership and mutually beneficial interactions between all members of our community.

Mesibov is also a long-time faculty member in our School of Government. Her leadership roles include working in the Office of the Provost from 1996 to 2000 and serving as an advisor to the SPA Grievance Panels. She has also been a member of the Faculty Grievance Committee and Faculty Executive Committee and served more than 20 years on the Truman Scholarship Selection Committee.

A committee has been appointed to search for candidates to lead the University’s Ombuds Office.