Public service awards, grants announced April 26

The Carolina Center for Public Service announced the following grants, fellowships and award winners at the center's April 26 awards banquet.

Eight grants and a total of $25,491 were awarded to student organization for campus public service projects. They are:

* Carolina HIV/AIDS Legal Assistance Project, by Ashley Huffstetler;

* SHAC Taxi Service Program, by Carolyn Chu;

* The Y Goes Orange, by N. Isabel Caldera and Roger Rajesh Panjabi;

* Tar Heel 4 A Day, by Rob Moore;

* Renovations for the Bloomer Hill Rural Health Clinic, by Chrissy Kistler;

* Student Ambassadors Program, by Daniel Stafford;

* THINK Transit, by Emily Nance; and

* M.A.N.O.: Women Learning Through New Opportunities, by Laura Seman.

Eight grants and a total of $36,124 were awarded to faculty/staff for public service projects that engage the University in lasting partnerships with community agencies to improve the lives of North Carolinians. They are:

* Carolina Law Street Law Project, by V. Hudson Fuller;

* Carolina Law Immigration Pro Bono Project, by Sylvia Novinsky;

* Immigrant Dental Health Proposal, by Vickie Parrish Overman, Mary George and Pamela Frasier;

* The Effects of Naturalistic Contract on Psychiatric Stigma, by David L. Penn;

* Project SNAP!, by Kelly Williams and Sima Pendharkar;

* Family House of Chapel Hill, by Jeffrey Fair;

* Operation C.A.R.B.: Community Adult Rehabilitation Experience, by Robert Mayo; and

* Rainbow Soccer Improvements, by Matt Banks.

Five students received $5,000 Robert E. Bryan Public Service Fellowships for the pursuit of innovative and potentially high-impact public service projects. They are:

* Kelly A. Fogleman, Hunger Lunch Program, Los Chavalitos, Nicaragua;

* Baker L. Henson, World Camp for Kids, Botswana, Malawi, South Africa and Zambia;

* Kathryn L. Kooistra, Summer Enrichment Program/Library Support, Ciudad Sandino, Nicaragua;

* Bharach Parthasarathy, Men-to-Men Rape Prevention Workshops, Chapel Hill; and

* Joy M. Salyers, Creating Change Day Camp, Orange County.

Six Office of the Provost Public Service Awards of $1,000 each were given to staff and faculty who, through their acts and deeds, have established themselves as examples of Carolina public service at its best. They are:

* Salli F. Benedict, staff member in Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, and project leader for Health Works for Women and Health Works in the Community;

* Elizabeth A. Evans, Academic Technology and Networks, who co-chaired the Intellectual Climate Implementation Committee and implemented a brown bag lunch program on intellectual issues of interest to the entire campus;

* Adam O. Goldstein, assistant professor in the Department of Family Medicine, and adviser for SHAC, the oldest student-run free medical clinic in the country, founder of Insight Out: A Journal of Community Service and a publication of the Eugene Mayer Community Service Honor Society;

* Larry M. Hicks, associate director of administrative services in the Department of Housing and Residential Education, who taught at the Summer Teacher Enhancement Institute sponsored by the School of Public Health in 1995, chair of the Chatham County Strategic Planning Steering Team;

* Chapman T. McQueen, faculty member in the Department of Pediatric Otolaryngology, who volunteers at the Open Door Clinic in Alamance County where he serves, along with his wife, as medical director and president of the board of directors; and

* Cherie A. Rosemond, clinical associate professor and certified geriatric clinical specialist, who provided leadership to the Hubbard Program, has worked with the Carol Woods Retirement Center, volunteers with the Orange County Adult Care Home Committee, co-chairs the Frail and Vulnerable Elders Committee of Orange County Master Aging Plan.

Four Robert E. Bryan Public Service Awards of $2,500 were given to staff, faculty and students who have performed extraordinary public service. They are:

* Daniel W. Bradford, third-year medical resident in the Department of Psychiatry, who spent a year volunteering at Club Nova, a psychiatric clubhouse program in Carrboro for people with mental illness, and organized a now-annual benefit concert there; board member of the Mental Health Association of Orange County; holds a managerial role at the Community House Psychiatric Clinic;

* Dorothy N. Gamble, assistant dean for student services and a clinical associate professor in the School of Social Work, helped found the International Social Work Exchange Program, is president of the N.C. State Council for Social Legislation, a member of the APPLES Advisory Board and chair of the Orange County Department of Social Services board;

* Dennis L. Markatos, a senior international studies and economics major from Pittsboro, a Morehead Scholar, a Robert C. Byrd Scholar, a member of the Golden Key Honors Society, the Order of the Golden Fleece and the Order of the Old Well, and founded Students United for a Responsible Global Environment; and

* Michael D. Ullman, research associate at the Sheps Center for Health Services Research, co-founded Community Cuisine, a culinary training and job placement organization based in Chapel Hill, spearheaded Speed relief efforts following Hurricane Floyd, served on the Chapel Hill Housing and Community Development Advisory Board, volunteered with Habitat for Humanity, Charles House, Freedom House and ABODE affordable Housing Task Force.

The Robert E. Bryan Awards and The Robert E. Bryan Fellowships honor the memory and accomplishments of Robert Emmet Bryan, a native of Newton Grove in Sampson County. Bryan graduated from the University in 1926. He was a highly successful entrepreneur in several areas of business, and he was engaged in public service throughout his life.

Bryan's daughter, Marjorie Bryan Buckley, also a University graduate, was instrumental in founding the Carolina Center for Public Service. The Bryan Awards and Bryan Fellowships are established in appreciation of her pioneering vision and significant efforts to support public experience by her alma mater.

The Office of the Provost Public Service Awards were established in January 2000 by Richard "Dick" Richardson, former provost. The awards recognize University faculty and staff who have performed extraordinary public service themselves or who have motivated and enabled extraordinary public service by students.