Public service center announces award winners

The Carolina Center for Public Service has announced the recipients of its 2000 awards.

The winners were honored at a May 4 banquet.

The Robert E. Bryan Awards for Public Service

Four awards of $2,500 were given to staff, faculty and students who have performed extraordinary public service. They are:

* Karen Kennedy Binder, support person at Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center and survivor of ovarian cancer, who was instrumental in the founding of Cornucopia House where emotional support and information is available to people with cancer and who continues many activities that raise awareness of ovarian cancer.

* James H. Johnson Jr., E. Maynard Adams distinguished professor in the Kenan-Flagler Business School, who has initiated outreach programs -- particularly to citizens and communities that are marginalized economically, educationally and socially -- including the Urban Enterprise Corps, the Durham Scholars Program and Midnight Basketball.

* Donna H. LeFebvre, director of internships in the Department of Political Science, who has been an advocate for the inclusion of public service in the academy through the Public Service Roundtable and the Intellectual Climate Committee on Community-Based Learning and has made a significant contribution to the development of the Carolina Center for Public Service.

* Rachel A. Willis, associate professor in the American studies curriculum, who was one of the first faculty members to integrate student service learning into a research agenda, such as her work in labor economy that contributed to improved child-care standards and improved public transit in North Carolina. She has been instrumental in the development of the Carolina Center for Public Service.

Two students, Jessica Fields and Robyn E. Schryer, also received awards.

The Office of the Provost Awards for Public Service

Three awards of $1,000 each were given to staff and three to faculty who have performed outstanding public service or have motivated and enabled public service by students. They are:

* Jeffery S. Beam, Couch biology library assistant and poet, who has encouraged young writers and poets across the state in performances that relate creativity, personal responsibility and the greater good.

* Patricia A. Curtin, assistant professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, who has incorporated service learning into the school's public relations curriculum, saving community programs thousands of dollars in promotional materials.

* Pamela Y. Frasier, research assistant professor in family medicine, who has been instrumental in improving health care in Chatham County by establishing the Coalition for Family Peace, coordinating efforts to secure nurse-midwife services and modeling supportive rather than directive assistance within the community.

* Jacquelyn M. Gist, assistant director of Career Services, who has placed students in service-oriented programs; and as a Carrboro alderman and community activist has served the growing Hispanic community, helped found the community shelter, provide low-income housing and AIDS services.

* Beth D. Kivel, assistant professor of recreation and leisure studies, who, with her students, has introduced recreation-based leadership skills into local groups providing services to youth -- the Women's Center's Teens Climb High, providing violence prevention and health education to children ages 9-14; and the North Carolina Lambda Youth Network, a peer-facilitated support network for lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgender young people in the Triangle.

* Angenette E. McAdoo, Human Resources receptionist, who for several years has used her expertise in public administration in Orange County groups such as the Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Coalition, the Shaping Orange County Task Force and the advisory boards for recreation and parks and the 4-H, as well as the Efland Cheeks Community School Park Task Force and the United Voices of Efland Cheeks.

The Robert E. Bryan Public Service Fellowships

Five students received $5,000 fellowships for the pursuit of innovative and potentially high-impact public service projects. They are Ashleigh Carter, Kimberly Chapman, Sarah Kocz, Heather Marinello and Christopher Myers.

Center awards grants to faculty, staff and students

The Carolina Center for Public Service has awarded 14 grants from a pool of $60,000 that will support current or newly created faculty and staff public service projects that engage the University in lasting partnerships with community agencies to improve the lives of North Carolinians. They are:

* Anne Aldridge, "University Wide Blood Drive";

* Deborah Bialeschki & Beth Kivel, "Teens Climb High";

* Dan Bradford, "Support Psychiatric Outreach to the Homeless and Medically Indigent in Partnership with the Inter-faith Council for Social Service";

* Yvonne Eaves, "A Church Based HIV/AIDS Prevention and Education Program";

* Pamela Frasier, "La Vida Nueva: Helping Immigrant Hispanics Toward a New Beginning -- Recovering from Alcohol Abuse and Addiction";

* Pamela Frasier & Rebecca Hunter, "A Healthy Start in a New Country: Transitions for Hispanic Children";

* Jaquelyn Gist, "University Career Services";

* Valery King & Sally LaLiberte, "Community Collaboration to Provide Spanish Language Childbirth Education Classes in Chatham County";

* Pamela Rowsey, "The King's Park Life Center";

* Florence Soltys, "An Unlikely Friendship: A Video Documentary";

* Judy Jones Tisdale, "Life Takes Guts";

* Celeste H. Turner, "Teen Outreach";

* Michael Waltman, "The Teaching of Tolerance at UNC and North Carolina Communities"; and

* Rachel Willis, "Sharing Our Computer Knowledge to Help Educate and Link People."

The center also has awarded 12 grants from a pool of $20,000 to student organization projects. They are:

* Rye Barcott, "Future Naval Officer's Association Outreach Initiative";

* Rita Billingsley, "North Carolina Renaissance";

* Alyssa Boyer, Lorraine Elliot, Elizabeth Diffey, "CHispA Chicos";

* Anna Frick, Mitch Sally, "Medications for Indigent Patients Program";

* Glenn Grossman, "Needs-Assessment of Chapel Hill's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender (GLBT) Community";

* Jennifer Horvath, "UNC Law Innocence Project";

* Shelly Koon, "Carolina Cancer Focus";

* Kathryn Reklis, "Shakespeare's Sister";

n*Katherine Ruhl, "M.A.N.O.";

* Erika Schulz, John Sparkman, "The Carolina Outreach Theatre";

* Tamara Simpson, "The Self-Esteem and Exploratory Group for Youth"; and

* Ginger Strickland, "The N.C. Center for Economic Empowerment."